Tribhuvan University 2015

Tribhuvan University (TU)Tribhuvan University (TU) is the first national institution of higher education in Nepal. It was established in 1959 A.D. The Central Administrative Office and the Central Campus of the university are located on the north eastern facade of Kirtipur, an ancient and small town located five kilometers away from Kathmandu city centre. There are thirty eight central departments and four research centres in TU and out of them 31 departments and 3 research centres are located at Kirtipur. The university at Kirtipur is spread over an area of 154.77 hectares (3042-5-2 ropanis).

  • In the current academic session (2014-15) altogether 6,04,437 students have been enrolled at various levels of TU academic programmes. 2,73,349 (45.22%) students study in its 60 constituent campuses including 38 central departments, while 3,31,088 (54.78%) students study in 931 affiliated colleges. It clearly reveals that affiliated colleges do have more students than the constituent campuses.


  • TU has 7966 teaching faculty and 7230 non-teaching staff including the support staff in its constituent campuses. The total number of employees is 15196 including 124 new pos

Tribhuvan University World Rank = 4928  AND Rank In Nepal = 1



University Address



Courses/Degree offered

The faculty runs both general as well as professional academic  programmes. The programmes offered by the faculty are as follows:

  •  Bachelor’s Level
  •  Post Graduate Diploma Level
  •  Master’s Level
  •  MPhil
  •  Ph.D



Bachelor’s Programme under Annual System

  • Bachelor of Business Studies (BBS) Duration – 3 Years
    -Areas of Specialization:

-General Management
– Marketing Management
– Finance
– Accountancy
– Management Science

  • Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA) Duration – 8 Semesters

Areas of Specialization:

– Banking and Finance
– Industrial Management
– Marketing Management
– Travel and Tourism Management
– Management Information System


  • Bachelor of Information Management (BIM) Duration – 8 Semesters
  • Bachelor of Travel and Tourism Management (BTTM) Duration: 6 Semesters
  • Bachelor of Hotel Management (BHM) Duration: 6 Semesters




Master’s Level Courses/Degree offered

  • Master of Business Studies (MBS) Duration: 2 Years Full Marks: 1000
  • Areas of Specialization:

– General Management
-Marketing Management
– Finance- Accountancy
– Management Science

  • Master of Public Administration (MPA) Duration: 2 Years Full Marks: 1000
  • Areas of Specialization:

-Development Management
– Human Resource Management
– Local Governance and Development
– Civil Society Governance
– Public Policy

  • Master of Travel and Tourism Management (MTTM) Duration: 4 Semesters
  • Master of Hospitality Management (MHM) Duration: 4 Semesters


  • Master of Philosophy in Management (M.Phil) Duration: 3 Semesters
  • Areas of Specialization:

– Management
– Finance

  • MPhil in Public Administration Duration: 3 Semesters
  • Areas of Specialization:

– Public Policy-
-Human Resource Management-
-Local Governance and
-NGO Managemen




Post Graduate Programme in Public Administration under Semester System

  • Post Graduate Diploma in Police Sciences (PGDPS) Duration: 2 Semesters
  • Masters’ Programme under Semester System Master of Business Administration (MBA)


  •  B.A.LL.B (Bachelor of Arts Bachelor of Law)
  •  LL.B (Bachelor of Law)
  •  LL.M (Master of Law)



  • Tribhuvan University Central Library (TUCL) was established in 1959 along with TU. This is the largest library in Nepal in terms of space, collection, users, its activities, service and number of library members



International Student

  •  Tribhuvan University has been a place for study and research for international students.the rich geographical social, cultural and linguistic diversities found in Nepal. The number of international students is growing steadily every year. Majority of the students come here either to join regular courses (partial or full) or for research (degree or non-degree)- as partial fulfillment of their own universities. They do not earn credits at Tribhuvan University but receive certificates from their home institution.
  • At present 81 international researchers are affiliated to Tribhuvan University. These researchers are from 20 different countries viz. Australia, Canada, China, France, Germany, Japan, Hungary, South Korea, The Netherlands, Czech Republic, UK, Denmark, Dutch, Poland and USA. The studies are being conducted in different areas such as language, religion, culture, ethnicity, economics, geography, environment, rural development and medicine.


Institutes There are five Institutes at the University:

  • Institute of Agriculture & Animal Sciences (IAAS), Rampur, Chitwan
  • Institute of Medicine (IOM), Maharajgunj, Kathmandu
  • Institute of Engineering (IOE), Pulchowk, Lalitpur
  • Institute of Science & Technology (IOST), Kathmandu
  • Institute of Forestry (IOF), Hetauda, Makwanpur



Scholarships / Financial Aids

  •  Various medals, awards and scholarships have been offered at Tribhuvan University by various individuals and organizations to honour distinct academic performance and outstanding achievement. Scholarships are awarded to encourage deserving students and the scholars engaged in various disciplines under the institutes and faculties of TU. There are also special awards and scholarships for female students of outstanding academic calibre

Tribhuvan University Admission

  • Admissions. Admissions are open at Tribhuvan University in the month of July/ August every year.  A student seeking admission has to pass an entrance examination.



Sport Facilities and Activities

Mr. Ganga Bahadur Thapa Magar

Executive Director
Student Welfare and Sports Directorate, TU
P.O.Box 21302, Kirtipur,Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone: (977-1) 4330487, Fax: (977-1) 4330487

Open and Distance Learning (ODL)

  •  Both conventional as well as Open and Distance Learning (ODL) mode programme within the same curriculum could provide suitable alternatives to the growing demand of higher education and address the issue of higher education for all

The University Campus

  • The University Campus is located at Kirtipur, where 31 out of 38 central departments are based. This campus is one of the largest and the most attractive campuses in Nepal with modern teaching/learning and research facilities, residence halls, faculty quarters, a stadium, a health Centre, and the golden Jubilee garden. Recent developments include a girls’ hostel, a sports complex, a student club, an international students’ hostel, and an international guest house. The campus is the Centre of excellence with more than 16000 students including international students.


Click here to submit your review.

Submit your review
* Required Field

Dear Sir, I searched for the fee structure of Bachelor and Master degree but i could not find. so, i would like to request that please insert the fe

Sep 13, 2015 by Omprakash Sah

Dear Sir,
I searched for the fee structure of Bachelor and Master degree but i could not find. so, i would like to request that please insert the fee structure on each faculty.Thank you.

Rank & Review , USA 5.0 5.0 1 1 Dear Sir, I searched for the fee structure of Bachelor and Master degree but i could not find. so, i would like to request that please insert the fee structure on each faculty.Th